Bouncing Back

Now that my own racing season is over and I’ve bored you all with that, I want to take this opportunity to write about the last 2 and a half years and the obstacles I’ve had to overcome. Many of you know too well that the last 2 years have been a challenge for me. Physically I couldn’t do what I loved and mentally I found myself in a bit of a rough patch.

Soon after the start of the 2013 season I went from being in the form of my life to nothing overnight. Putting it simply my legs were just tired all the time and a 5 mile ride to work would leave me feeling drained for days.

wtflegs

 

Frustration soon crept in and turned into mild depression after a few months as the hobby that controlled my life had now gone. I struggled to come to terms with where I was and found it difficult to find things to occupy my mind.

Just a few weeks ago I was looking back on some of my ‘Homework’ from the counselling sessions I attended and realised just how far I had come. To begin with I didn’t really think the sessions were working but a few months in, without really noticing, I was beginning to feel like myself again. I now find that I can switch from being focused on a goal (like I have this month) back to a normal state of mind where cycling isn’t everything.

I have to thank my close friends and family who put up with me and supported me through the dips, especially my Mum and my sister Jacqueline. Having People around you when you take on the downs makes things 10 times easier and the guidance and they gave me helped me through to where I am now. I cannot stress enough how much talking about how I felt helped to refocus me on how lucky I am to have the important things in life.

 

In terms of the cycling and getting back to sport, I remember a module on Sports Psychology at Uni where we watched some motivational videos. There was a sexy name for them but I can’t remember what it was. Anyway, I found this video very helpful myself and said to myself that if I get back racing I would share this particular Video. A bit embarrassing but here it is.

 

Leave a Reply

